Games

The tabletop RPG weekly news show! News and chat about the latest D&D and other tabletop roleplaying games!

May 9, 2020

#99: How an RPG Gets Made

This week, Morrus and Peter talk about how a roleplaying game gets made, from the initial pitch to a publisher all the way through writing, editing, art, layout, and getting the final printed book in your hand along with tips on how to get into the industry. In the news, D&D’s Mythic Odyssey of Theros delayed, Kickstarter laid off half its staff, Warhammer: Age of Sigmar released, news on the Dungeons & Dragons movie, and more! Plus a brand new sketch featuring the origin of a classic spell name.

-------------------

News

Mythic Odysseys of Theros Delayed https://www.enworld.org/threads/mythic-odysseys-of-theros-delayed.671904/

Ancient Adventures, a Greek-themed sourcebook and setting for 5e, released https://www.enworld.org/threads/ancient-adventures-is-another-option-for-d-d-ancient-greece.671891/

Warhammer Age of Sigmar Soulbound Collector’s Edition Cover Reveal https://www.enworld.org/threads/take-a-look-at-the-age-of-sigmar-soulbound-collectors-edition.671916/

Warhammer Age of Sigmar Soulbound Released in PDF with Print Pre-Orders Open https://www.enworld.org/threads/warhammers-age-of-sigmar-soulbound-is-here.671956/

D&D Beyond’s Top 10 Fighter Subclasses https://www.enworld.org/threads/d-ds-top-10-fighter-subclasses-revealed.671925/

Roll20’s Latest Report Shows Growth Everywhere https://www.enworld.org/threads/roll20s-latest-report-shows-growth-everywhere.671944/

Joe Manganiello’s D&D Game Highlighted by Variety Magazine https://www.enworld.org/threads/joe-manganiellos-d-d-campaign-includes-a-game-of-thrones-creator-vince-vaughn.671951/

Pre-Order the Altered Carbon RPG https://www.enworld.org/threads/pre-order-the-altered-carbon-rpg.671975/

News Digest for the Week of May 8 (D&D movie news) https://www.enworld.org/threads/news-digest-for-the-week-of-may-8.671974/

Kickstarter Laid Off Half Its Staff https://www.enworld.org/threads/kickstarter-is-losing-nearly-half-it%E2%80%99s-staff.671887/

Egg Embry’s RPG Crowdfunding News (including a brief interview with Luke Crane from Kickstarter on the state of RPG crowdfunding projects) https://www.enworld.org/threads/rpg-crowdfunding-news-%E2%80%93-torchbearer-dragon-fighters-terrain-books-and-more.671914/

-------------------

Kickstarters

Torchbearer 2nd Edition https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/burningwheel/torchbearer-2nd-edition

New Dungeon Craft Series – Terrain Books for D&D https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/dungeoncraft/new-dungeon-craft-series-two-new-terrain-books-for-dandd

NPC Portraits Decks https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/inkwellideas/npc-portraits-decks-adventurers-townsfolk-and-hirelings

Dragon Fighters: Advanced Musha Shugyo RPG https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/dungeon6/dragon-fighters-advanced-musha-shugyo-rpg

Vala the Beast Heart https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/ashcancomicspub/vala-the-beast-heart-chapter-one

Grimmsgate https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/grimmsgate#/

Kids & Dragons https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/kidsdragons/kids-and-dragons

-------------------

Hosts: Russ “Morrus” Morrissey and Peter Coffey

Editing and post-production: Darryl Mott

Kickstarter News Column used for the Kickstarter Game: Egg Embry

Theme Song: Steve Arnott

Kickstarter Game Theme: Lyrics by Russ Morrissey, Vocals by “drwilko”, Guitar by Darryl Mott

Malach the Maleficent played by Darren Morrissey

Please support the show on Patreon at http://patreon.com/morrus

More episodes

Load more