Games

The world’s biggest tabletop RPG weekly news show! News and chat about Dungeons & Dragons (and other tabletop roleplaying games)!

Episodes

This week, Morrus and Peter are joined by Shannon Appelcline to talk about managing an RPG community and researching RPG history. In the news, more Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft previews, Critical Role board game announced, new Pathfinder video game gets a release date, Gen Con badges go on sale soon, and more! Plus Our Favourite Game in All the World and a brand new sketch about how even the undead can’t resist the call to adventure.

-------------------

Shannon Appelcline

Designers & Dragons https://amzn.to/3w9miD2

RPGnet (formerly) http://rpg.net

-------------------

News

Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft Art Preview https://www.enworld.org/threads/meet-ravenlofts-harkon-lucas-and-rudolph-van-richten.679991/

And another art preview https://www.enworld.org/threads/some-more-ravenloft-art-reborn-hexbloods-dhampir-lamordia.680054/

Quick look review from Rob Wieland https://www.enworld.org/threads/my-favorite-parts-of-van-richten%E2%80%99s-guide-to-ravenloft.680058/

In-depth review from Beth Rimmels https://www.enworld.org/threads/van-richtens-guide-to-ravenloft-an-in-depth-review.680075/

Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft on Amazon https://amzn.to/2RTjgUv

Fantasy AGE Trojan War https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/352494/Fantasy-AGE-Trojan-War?affiliate_id=36142

News Digest for the Week of May 14 (Critical Role Board Game Uk’otoa, Gen Con badge registration opening date, PaizoCon Online info, Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous video game release date) https://www.enworld.org/threads/news-digest-for-the-week-of-may-14.680073/

Auroboros: Coils of the Serpent Kickstarter crosses $1 million https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/warchief/auroboros

Awfully Cheerful Engine Kickstarter Page https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/enworld/1277679949

-------------------

Kickstarters

Broken Tales https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/theworldanvil/broken-tales

UnFamiliar: Release the Tiny Beasts https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/calltoadventure/unfamiliar-1

Valbrik’s Silver Ring https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/limitless-adventures/valbriks-silver-ring

Nowhereville https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1582756696/nowhereville

Keep up to date with all the RPG crowdfunding projects ending soon every week with Egg Embry’s RPG Crowdfunding News https://www.enworld.org/threads/rpg-crowdfunding-news-%E2%80%93-broken-tales-into-the-wyrd-and-wild-unfamiliar-and-more.680023/

-------------------

RPG History and RPG Forums

Designers & Dragons https://amzn.to/3w9miD2

Advanced Designers & Dragons Blog https://www.rpg.net/columns/list-column.phtml?colname=advanced-designers-and-dragons

RPGnet http://rpg.net

EN World http://enworld.org

Giants in the Playground Forums https://forums.giantitp.com/

-------------------

Please support us on Patreon at http://patreon.com/morrus

Don’t forget to join the Morrus’ Unofficial Tabletop RPG Talk Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/1033145023517295/ and join us on Discord at https://discord.gg/VAuxX8M

-------------------

Hosts: Russ “Morrus” Morrissey and Peter Coffey

Editing and post-production: Darryl Mott

Theme Song: Steve Arnott

Kickstarter Game Research: Egg Embry

Kickstarter Game Theme: Lyrics by Russ Morrissey, Vocals by “drwilko”, Guitar by Darryl Mott

Malach the Maleficent played by Darren Morrissey

Play Now

Each week we revisit a short skit from the main podcast, a year or more back. In this one, we take a look at trying to sell your amazing idea (and JUST the idea) to a game publisher.

Play Now

This week, Morrus and Peter are joined by Claudio Pozas to talk about the business side of RPG art. In the news, the Dungeons & Dragons live-action film has begun shooting, a big preview of Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft, D&D Live 2021 announced, and more! Plus Our Favourite Game in All the World and a brand new sketch about how a fun video game doesn’t necessarily make for a fun RPG.

-------------------

Claudio Pozas

Homepage: https://claudiopozas.com/

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/claudio.pozas/?hl=en

-------------------

News

D&D Movie Starts Filming https://www.enworld.org/threads/the-d-d-movie-has-begun-filming.679837/

Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft Table of Contents https://www.enworld.org/threads/van-richten%E2%80%99s-guide-to-ravenloft-table-of-contents.679842/

Previews of Three Ravenloft Domains https://www.enworld.org/threads/ravenloft-previews-of-dementlieu-lamordia-and-harakir.679884/

Order Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft on Amazon https://amzn.to/33sKHao

D&D Live 2021 https://www.enworld.org/threads/wotc-announces-d-d-live-streaming-event.679906/

GMsToolkit – Unconventional Allies Volume 1 https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/tks/a-dozen-unconventional-allies

Forgotten Realms Magic: The Gathering Expansion Details https://www.enworld.org/threads/check-out-magic-the-gatherings-tiamat.679940/

Death Knight Resurrected https://www.enworld.org/threads/the-return-of-the-death-knight.679916/

-------------------

Kickstarters

Court of Blades https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/acoupleofdrakes/court-of-blades-a-tabletop-roleplaying-game

Ironsworn: Starforged https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/shawntomkin/ironsworn-starforged

Prophecy of Nine Omens https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/midnight-tower/the-prophecy-of-nine-omens-trilogy

Flame of Udun https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/flameofudunstudio/flame-of-udun-studio-tiny-rpg-fantasy

LokDown TTRPG https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/carbynejungle/lokdown-ttrpg

Ginny Di’s Library of Witticisms https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/unlimitedrealmsltd/ginny-dis-library-of-witticisms

Keep up to date with all the RPG crowdfunding projects ending soon every week with Egg Embry’s RPG Crowdfunding News https://www.enworld.org/threads/rpg-crowdfunding-news-ironsworn-fantasy-world-court-of-blades-and-more.679838/

-------------------

Roleplaying Game Art

Claudio Pozas Homepage https://claudiopozas.com/

Order Claudio Pozas Prints https://www.inprnt.com/gallery/claudiopozas/

Claudio Pozas on Instagram https://www.instagram.com/claudio.pozas/?hl=en

Artstation https://www.artstation.com/

DeviantArt https://www.deviantart.com/

Drawn and Drafted http://www.drawnanddrafted.com/

-------------------

Please support us on Patreon at http://patreon.com/morrus

Don’t forget to join the Morrus’ Unofficial Tabletop RPG Talk Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/1033145023517295/ and join us on Discord at https://discord.gg/VAuxX8M

-------------------

Hosts: Russ “Morrus” Morrissey and Peter Coffey

Editing and post-production: Darryl Mott

Theme Song: Steve Arnott

Kickstarter Game Research: Egg Embry

Kickstarter Game Theme: Lyrics by Russ Morrissey, Vocals by “drwilko”, Guitar by Darryl Mott

Malach the Maleficent played by Darren Morrissey

Play Now

Each week we revisit a short skit from the main podcast, a year or more back. In this one, we take a look at when the Monty Haul is nothing but zonks (is anyone under the age of 30 going to get that reference?)

Play Now

This week, Morrus and Peter are joined by Little Red Dot, Twitch streamer and content producer for Kobold Press to talk about the business and production side of Twitch streaming. In the news, Vampire: The Masquerade and Scion both headed to television, Jeff Goldblum on a Dungeons & Dragons actual play podcast, Wizards of the Coast makes up 75% of Hasbro’s profits, and more! Plus Our Favourite Game in All the World and a brand new sketch about not quite getting there in time.

-------------------

Little Red Dot

On Twitch https://www.twitch.tv/little_red_dot/

On YouTube https://www.youtube.com/c/LittleRedDot

Kobold Press https://koboldpress.com/

-------------------

News

World of Darkness coming to TV https://www.enworld.org/threads/world-of-darkness-is-also-coming-to-tv.679782/

Scion is Coming to TV https://www.enworld.org/threads/scion-is-coming-to-tv.679780/

Jeff Goldblum to Appear in D&D Podcast https://www.enworld.org/threads/jeff-goldblum-to-appear-in-dungeons-dragons-podcast.679761/

Travis Vengroff Talks Jeff Goldblum and Dungeons & Dragons https://www.enworld.org/threads/travis-vengroff-talks-jeff-goldblum-d-d.679790/

Wizards of the Coast Generates 75% of Hasbro’s Profits for Q1 2021 https://www.enworld.org/threads/wotc-generates-75-of-hasbros-profit.679755/

Goblinization Day https://www.enworld.org/threads/goblinization-day.679803/

News Digest for the Week of April 30 (Doctor Who license extended) https://www.enworld.org/threads/news-digest-for-the-week-of-april-30.679801/

Level Up Playtest Document #17: Journeys https://www.enworld.org/threads/level-up-playtest-document-17-journeys.679735/

-------------------

Kickstarters

Auroboros: Coils of the Serpent https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/warchief/auroboros

Grim Hollow: The Monster Grimoire https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/977277590/grim-hollow-the-monster-grimoire-0

Sirens: Battle of the Bards https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/stonejamison/sirens-battle-of-the-bards?ref=74kg1d

Comets & Cockpits https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/northernmountainnerd/comets-and-cockpits-original-5e-setting

Fantasy City Sites and Scenes III https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/philipreed/fantasy-city-sites-and-scenes-iii-for-use-with-fantasy-rpgs

Ekemon’s Exotic Mounts for 5e https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/exoticmounts/ekemons-exotic-mounts-a-5e-compatible-supplement

Endless Encounters: Dungeons https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/pacesettergames/endless-encounters-dungeons

Into the Feywild: Fey Critters for D&D 5e https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/enworld/into-the-feywild-fey-themed-critters-for-dandd-5e

Corsairs of Cthulhu https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/newcometgames/corsairs-of-cthulhu-a-call-of-cthulhu-campaign-book

Find out all the RPG crowdfunding projects ending soon every week with Egg Embry’s RPG Crowdfunding News https://www.enworld.org/threads/rpg-crowdfunding-news-auroboros-grim-hollow-sirens-and-more.679694/

-------------------

Streaming and Content Production

Kobold Press’s Twitch Channel https://www.twitch.tv/koboldpress

Little Red Dot’s Twitch Channel https://www.twitch.tv/little_red_dot/

Streamlabs https://streamlabs.com/

StreamElements https://streamelements.com/

Twitch Affiliate requirements are a minimum of 50 followers, minimum of 500 minutes total streamtime, and an average* of 3 or more concurrent viewers across all streams with a minimum of 7 unique streaming days over a rolling 30-day period (“Days” run from 00:00 GMT to 23:59 GMT). This is an automated process with an invitation sent as soon as the requirements are met.  https://affiliate.twitch.tv/

Twitch Partner requirements are a minimum of 25 hours streamed with a minimum of 12 unique streaming days and an average* of 75 concurrent viewers (not counting raids, hosts, and embeds) over a rolling 30-day period OR can demonstrate a “large, engaged viewership/following on other services” (meaning popular YouTubers can skip the requirements). This is a manually reviewed process you must apply for and is approved or denied by an actual person and meeting the minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. https://www.twitch.tv/p/partners/

* These numbers can be difficult to calculate because they’re averaged for an entire stream then averaged again for the rolling 30-day period, but a basic idea is that they’re averaged for an entire stream, then averaged again per stream. For example, if you stream for one hour and have one viewer for the first 15 minutes then four viewers for the following 45 minutes, your average viewer count for that stream is 3.25. If your next two streams average out to 2 and 4 viewers (regardless of the length of those streams), then your average viewer count for those three streams together is 3. This is different than the calculation on Twitch’s analytics page and can cause confusion if the Path to Affiliate achievement doesn’t unlock even though it says you have more than 3 average viewers over the previous 30 days.

Note: When agreeing to become a Twitch Affiliate or Twitch Partner, you also agree to specific terms including but not limited to no concurrent streaming on other platforms (you can still stream to YouTube or Facebook, but you cannot do so while also streaming to Twitch) and a minimum 24 hour delay between the ending of a stream and the posting of any material from that stream to another platform (so if your stream ends at 5 PM on Monday, you can’t post the archive to YouTube until 5 PM on Tuesday).

-------------------

Please support us on Patreon at http://patreon.com/morrus

Don’t forget to join the Morrus’ Unofficial Tabletop RPG Talk Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/1033145023517295/ and join us on Discord at https://discord.gg/VAuxX8M

-------------------

Hosts: Russ “Morrus” Morrissey and Peter Coffey

Editing and post-production: Darryl Mott

Theme Song: Steve Arnott

Kickstarter Game Research: Egg Embry

Kickstarter Game Theme: Lyrics by Russ Morrissey, Vocals by “drwilko”, Guitar by Darryl Mott

Malach the Maleficent played by Darren Morrissey

Play Now

Each week we revisit a short skit from the main podcast, a year or more back. In this one, a unique initiative system based on D&D trivia (featuring guests Shane Stacks and Darryl Mott).

Play Now

This week, Morrus and Peter are joined by Panayiotis Lines to talk about Shadow of Mogg – A Post Brexit RPG. In the news, a peek behind how Dungeons & Dragons is made, former BioWare developers launch tabletop RPG Kickstarter, free RPG Wicked Ones lets you play the monsters, and more! Plus Our Favourite Game in All the World and a brand new sketch about an exciting new way to finance adventuring.

-------------------

Panayiotis Lines

Shadow of Mogg https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/349661/Shadow-of-Mogg--A-Post-Brexit-RPG?affiliate_id=36142

-------------------

News

Auroboros: Coils of the Serpent Kickstarter Launched https://www.enworld.org/threads/auroboros-kickstarter-from-warcraft-devs-has-launched.679598/

Death Knight: 0 Hudson: 1 https://www.enworld.org/threads/the-sad-tale-of-a-heroforge-death-knight.679511/

Wicked Ones RPG https://www.enworld.org/threads/wicked-ones-is-a-free-rpg-corebook-where-you-play-the-monsters.679602/

Against the Gods Themselves https://www.modiphius.net/blogs/news/against-the-gods-themselves

D&D Studio Blog https://www.enworld.org/threads/d-d-head-talks-future-plans-sort-of.679631/

EN Publishing Gets New Community and Social Media Manager https://enpublishingrpg.com/blogs/news/the-time-for-video-content-is-nigh

Larry Elmore’s The Four Women of Dragonlance https://www.enworld.org/threads/elmores-the-four-women-of-dragonlance-painting-is-finished.679625/

News Digest for the Week of April 23 (Lone Wolf, Legend of the Five Rings new release, Baldur’s Gate Patch) https://www.enworld.org/threads/news-digest-for-the-week-of-april-23.679658/

-------------------

Kickstarters

Orbital Blues https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/soulmuppet/orbital-blues

The Mysteries of Coral Cove https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/fabledantics/the-mysteries-of-coral-cove-5e-adventure

The Bleakness https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/twistedimage/the-bleakness

Arkelon Chronicles https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/wendigoworkshop/arkelon-chronicles

Find out all the RPG crowdfunding projects ending soon every week with Egg Embry’s RPG Crowdfunding News https://www.enworld.org/threads/rpg-crowdfunding-news-%E2%80%93-ruins-of-symbaroum-academies-of-the-arcane-tavern-tales-and-more.679580/

-------------------

Shadow of Mogg

Shadow of Mogg – A Post Brexit RPG https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/349661/Shadow-of-Mogg--A-Post-Brexit-RPG?affiliate_id=36142

-------------------

Please support us on Patreon at http://patreon.com/morrus

Don’t forget to join the Morrus’ Unofficial Tabletop RPG Talk Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/1033145023517295/ and join us on Discord at https://discord.gg/VAuxX8M

-------------------

Hosts: Russ “Morrus” Morrissey and Peter Coffey

Editing and post-production: Darryl Mott

Theme Song: Steve Arnott

Kickstarter Game Research: Egg Embry

Kickstarter Game Theme: Lyrics by Russ Morrissey, Vocals by “drwilko”, Guitar by Darryl Mott

Malach the Maleficent played by Darren Morrissey

Play Now

Each week we revisit a short skit from the main podcast, a year or more back. In this one, we look into the origins of Magic Missile.

Play Now

This week, Morrus and Peter are joined by Nolan T. Jones, the CEO of Roll20, to talk about the virtual tabletop platform. In the news, a new Unearthed Arcana for Dungeons & Dragons, Matt Colville releases new class, Orr Group stats for Roll20, and more! Plus Our Favourite Game in All the World and a brand new sketch about a frustrating divination process we’re all likely very familiar with.

-------------------

Nolan T. Jones

Roll 20 https://roll20.net/

-------------------

News

Jeff Grubb’s Lost Mystara Book set for Digital Release https://www.enworld.org/threads/jeff-grubbs-lost-mystara-sourcebook-to-be-released.679392/

Unearthed Arcana: Draconic Options https://www.enworld.org/threads/unearthed-arcana-draconic-options.679466/

2.5 Billion Tyrannosaurus Rex Roamed the Earth https://www.nbcnews.com/science/weird-science/25-billion-t-rex-roamed-earth-not-study-finds-rcna694

RPG companies who have made the most on Kickstarter https://www.enworld.org/threads/the-biggest-ttrpg-kickstarter-creators-free-league-is-king.679446/

Matt Colville’s Illrigger Class https://shop.mcdmproductions.com/products/illrigger-class

The Orr Group Stats for Roll20 Q1 2021 https://blog.roll20.net/posts/the-orr-group-industry-report-q1-2021/

News Digest for the Week of April 16 (Paranoia R&D Sourcebook Released) https://www.enworld.org/threads/news-digest-for-the-week-of-april-16.679498/

-------------------

Kickstarters

We Die Young https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/ericfrombloatgames/we-die-young-rpg-supernatural-roleplaying-in-the-1990s

Devil Dice Island https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/devildiceisland/devil-dice-island

What a Lovely Adventure https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/transparentgms/what-a-lovely-adventure-romantic-lgbtq-one-shot-anthology

The Broken Cask https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/shorelessskies/the-broken-cask

Blue Planet Recontact https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1875712273/blue-planet-recontact

Keep up to day with all the RPG crowdfunding projects ending soon every week with Egg Embry’s RPG Crowdfunding News https://www.enworld.org/threads/rpg-crowdfunding-news-%E2%80%93-venture-maidens-blue-planet-we-die-young-and-more.679441/

-------------------

Roll20

Roll 20 https://roll20.net/

Roll20 QuantumRoll https://app.roll20.net/home/quantum

-------------------

Please support us on Patreon at http://patreon.com/morrus

Don’t forget to join the Morrus’ Unofficial Tabletop RPG Talk Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/1033145023517295/ and join us on Discord at https://discord.gg/VAuxX8M

-------------------

Hosts: Russ “Morrus” Morrissey and Peter Coffey

Editing and post-production: Darryl Mott

Theme Song: Steve Arnott

Kickstarter Game Research: Egg Embry

Kickstarter Game Theme: Lyrics by Russ Morrissey, Vocals by “drwilko”, Guitar by Darryl Mott

Malach the Maleficent played by Darren Morrissey

Play Now

Each week we revisit a short skit from the main podcast, a year or more back. In this one, are you really playing D&D if you don’t have your branded Drizzt D'Underoos?

Play Now

Load more

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App