Games

The tabletop RPG weekly news show! News and chat about the latest D&D and other tabletop roleplaying games!

May 2, 2020

#98: Exploration in Fantasy Roleplaying

This week, Morrus and Peter talk about Peter’s upcoming book about the underutilized third pillar of Dungeons & Dragons 5e: Exploration. In the news, a new head of Dungeons & Dragons, Gen Con events delayed, UK Games Expo Cancelled, Alien RPG Starter Set Pre-Orders, Comic Relief to play D&D, Temple of Elemental Evil Reincarnated, and more! Plus a brand new sketch about showing your love of D&D via merchandising.

-------------------

News

Modiphius Gave Away John Carter of Mars RPG for Last Week of April (no longer available) https://www.enworld.org/threads/modiphius-giving-away-john-carter-of-mars.671718/

Temple of Elemental Evil Reincarnated https://www.enworld.org/threads/temple-of-elemental-evil-is-the-next-original-adventures-reincarnated.671689/

Echo Knight is Wildemount’s Most Popular Subclass https://www.enworld.org/threads/echo-knight-is-wildemounts-most-popular-subclass.671720/

Wildemount: Dark Star Free Adventure from D&D Beyond https://www.dndbeyond.com/posts/751-wildemount-dark-star

UK Games Expo Canceled https://www.enworld.org/threads/uk-games-expo-2020-cancelled.671740/

PaizoCon Online 2020 https://www.enworld.org/threads/paizocon-online-coming-in-may.671749/

Gen Con Event Registration Delayed https://www.enworld.org/threads/gen-con-event-registration-delayed.671829/

Alien RPG Starter Set & Colonial Marines Adventure Pre-Order https://www.enworld.org/threads/alien-rpg-pre-order-starter-set-colonial-marines-adventure.671722/

Gale Force Nine Alien Board Game https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/256852/aliens-another-glorious-day-corps

Comic Relief Plays D&D https://www.enworld.org/threads/comic-relief-plays-d-d.671816/

D&D Twitch Page https://www.twitch.tv/dnd

Tiltify Page for Comic Relief Plays D&D https://tiltify.com/@comic-relief-plays-dungeons-dragons/crplaysdnd

Ray Winninger New Head of Dungeons & Dragons https://www.enworld.org/threads/ray-winninger-is-head-of-d-d-rpg-team-mike-mearls-no-longer-works-on-rpg.671785/

Lyonesse RPG Based on the Works of Jack Vance https://www.enworld.org/threads/lyonesse-is-now-available.671835/

Trailer for Mythological Figures & Maleficent Monsters https://www.enworld.org/threads/check-out-this-trailer-for-mythological-figures-maleficent-monsters.671690/

The Fumble: Shane Stack’s satirical column on tabletop RPGs https://www.enworld.org/threads/the-fumble-game-master-secretly-plotting-against-online-players-who-dont-use-their-mute-button.671766/

Epic Monsters: Karkaddan https://www.enworld.org/threads/epic-monsters-karkaddan.671742/

Jonathan Tweet on Alignment in D&D https://www.enworld.org/threads/alignment-in-d-d.671817/

Game Design Masterclass: Going Diceless https://www.enworld.org/threads/game-design-masterclass-going-diceless.670334/

Streaming Video for Tabletop Ranked https://www.enworld.org/threads/streaming-video-for-tabletop-games-ranked.671682/

-------------------

Kickstarters

Deadlands: The Weird West https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/545820095/deadlands-the-weird-west

Brancalonia https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/acherongames/brancalonia-the-spaghetti-fantasy-rpg

Iopos: Lair of Deceit https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/783548120/earthdawn-4th-edition-iopos-lair-of-deceit

Sunken Dungeon: D&D + Coloring https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/andhegames/sunken-dungeon-a-colorable-rpg-the-cloud-dungeon-2

Dungeons Your Party Will Die For https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/laidbackdm/dungeons-your-party-will-die-for

The Sickest Witch Solo Story Mode https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/justinsirois/sickest-witch-solo-story-mode-and-print-play

Egg Embry’s RPG Crowdfunding News https://www.enworld.org/threads/rpg-crowdfunding-news-%E2%80%93-deadlands-brancalonia-earthdawn-and-more.671710/

-------------------

Hosts: Russ “Morrus” Morrissey and Peter Coffey

Editing and post-production: Darryl Mott

Kickstarter News Column used for the Kickstarter Game: Egg Embry

Theme Song: Steve Arnott

Kickstarter Game Theme: Lyrics by Russ Morrissey, Vocals by “drwilko”, Guitar by Darryl Mott

Malach the Maleficent played by Darren Morrissey

Please support the show on Patreon at http://patreon.com/morrus

More episodes

Load more