Games

News and chat about the latest D&D and other tabletop roleplaying games!

October 30, 2019

#72 Dungeons & Dragons and the Satanic Panic

This week, Morrus and Peter spend this Halloween season looking at the scariest time for roleplaying, the Satanic Panic of the 1980s. In the news, Tyranny of Dragons reprinted for D&D, Vampire: The Masquerade miniatures, Strange New Worlds released for Star Trek Adventures, a one-page random dungeon generator, and more! Plus Our Favorite Game in All the World and a brand new sketch!

-------------------

News

The Return of the Tyranny of Dragons: First Impressions https://www.enworld.org/threads/the-return-of-tyranny-of-dragons-first-impressions.668107/

New Professional Magazine from GAMA, Around the Table https://www.enworld.org/threads/around-the-table-is-gamas-new-tabletop-professional-magazine.668129/

Modiphius to Produce Vampire: The Masquerade Miniatures https://www.enworld.org/threads/modiphius-to-produce-vampire-the-masquerade-miniatures.668130/

Era: Lost Legend – A Final Fantasy Inspired RPG https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/shadesofvengeance/era-lost-legend-a-final-fantasy-inspired-rpg?ref=enworld

Kingdoms, Warfare, and More Minis from Matt Colville https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/255133215/kingdoms-warfare-and-more-minis?ref=enworld

One Page Random Dungeon Generator https://www.enworld.org/threads/generate-a-one-page-dungeon-with-one-click.668131/

Hasbro Gaming Down 17%, D&D Remains Bright Spot https://www.enworld.org/threads/hasbro-gaming-down-17-but-d-d-remains-bright-spot.668157/

Strange New Worlds: 9 New Adventures for Star Trek https://www.enworld.org/threads/strange-new-worlds-9-adventures-for-star-trek-rpg.668168/

Which Ability Score Would You Increase to 18 In Real Life? https://www.enworld.org/threads/which-ability-score-would-you-like-to-increase-to-18-in-real-life.668084/

Owen K.C. Stephens: From the Freelancing Frontline: The Beginning https://www.enworld.org/threads/from-the-freelancing-frontline-the-beginning.668158/

Jim Ward: Demons & Devils, NOT! https://www.enworld.org/threads/jim-ward-demons-devils-not.666876/

-------------------

Kickstarters

Moth Children https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/cosmicmirrorgames/moth-children

The Legend of Gimcrack Jack https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/2kingsgames/the-legend-of-gimcrack-jack-family-rpg-adventure-book

Wolves of God https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1637945166/wolves-of-god-adventures-in-dark-ages-england

Find more projects every week in EN World’s RPG Crowdfunding News by Egg Embry https://www.enworld.org/threads/rpg-crowdfunding-news-haunted-west-wolves-of-god-ross-rifles-and-more.668128/

-------------------

Satanic Panic

Wikipedia Article on D&D Religions Objections https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dungeons_%26_Dragons_controversies#Religious_objections

Wikipedia Article on Satanic Panic https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Satanic_ritual_abuse

Wikipedia Article on James Dallas Egbert III https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Dallas_Egbert_III

Wikipedia Article on William Dear https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Dear_(detective)

“The Truth About the Dungeon Master Who Disappeared in the Steam Tunnels” from Boingboing https://boingboing.net/2014/11/11/the-truth-about-the-dungeon-ma.html

Lieth Von Stein Murder https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_of_Lieth_Von_Stein

Mazes and Monsters (1982) https://amzn.to/2Nm3FXL

“How D&D Writers Fought the Satanic Panic” from Geek & Sundry https://geekandsundry.com/how-dd-writers-fought-the-satanic-panic/

Clip from a television show on D&D https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wL7lEwD1uGI

Patricia Pulling and B.A.D.D. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patricia_Pulling

The Pulling Report by Michael A. Stackpole http://www.rpgstudies.net/stackpole/pulling_report.html

“Is Dungeons & Dragons Evil?” Segment from 60 Minutes with Gary Gygax https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yShqF1YSfDs

“Dark Dungeons” by Jack Chick https://imgur.com/gallery/e66Sx

Dark Dungeons: The Movie (2014) http://www.darkdungeonsthemovie.com/

“Minister Sees Threat of Witchcraft in School” on Rev. Jon Quigley, Seattle Times 1985 https://iw.newsbank.com/apps/news/document-view?p=AMNEWS&docref=news/0EB53133975E4BC4&f=basic

Jim Ward: Demons & Devils, NOT! https://www.enworld.org/threads/jim-ward-demons-devils-not.666876/

“Questions and Answers About Role-Playing Games” by Loren K. Wiseman and Michael A. Stackpole (GAMA, 1991) http://www.theescapist.com/archive-gamapamphlet.htm

-------------------

Hosts: Russ “Morrus” Morrissey and Peter Coffey
Editing and post-production: Darryl Mott
Kickstarter News Column used for the Kickstarter Game: Egg Embry
Theme Song: Steve Arnott
Kickstarter Game Theme: Lyrics by Russ Morrissey, Vocals by “drwilko”, Guitar by Darryl Mott
Malach the Maleficent played by Darren Morrissey

More episodes

Load more