Games

The world’s biggest tabletop RPG weekly news show! News and chat about Dungeons & Dragons (and other tabletop roleplaying games)!

July 17, 2021

#159: Cursed Captains of Cthulhu with James Barry

This week, Morrus and Peter are joined by James Berry to talk about Cursed Captains of Cthulhu. In the news, details about the new Dungeons & Dragons books including the leak of the new October release, Doctor Who Second Edition details revealed, Avatar The Last Airbender RPG Quickstart released, and more! Plus Our Favourite Game in All the World and a brand new sketch about the trouble finding a well-reviewed dungeon.

-------------------

James Berry

Black Cat Games https://blackcatgames.com/

Cursed Captains of Cthulhu https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/287589860/cursed-captains-of-cthulhu

-------------------

News

TSR Saga Update: Just When You Thought It Was All Over… https://www.enworld.org/threads/just-when-you-thought-it-was-all-over-now-there%E2%80%99s-a-fourth-tsr.681245/

UK Games Expo Revises Health Requirements – Negative Test or Vaccine Required https://www.enworld.org/threads/uk-games-expo-updates-covid-rules-again.681333/

Doctor Who Second Edition https://www.enworld.org/threads/check-out-the-cover-of-the-upcoming-doctor-who-second-edition-rpg.681336/

Dread Metrol from Keith Baker is Here! https://www.enworld.org/threads/dread-metrol-from-keith-baker-is-here.681348/

Cubicle 7 Announces Victoriana for 5e https://www.enworld.org/threads/cubicle-7-announces-victoriana-for-5e.681401/

RPG Market Grew 31% in 2020 https://www.enworld.org/threads/rpg-market-grew-31-in-2020.681400/

News Digest for the Week of July 16 (Overseas Freight Shipping Affecting TTRPGs, Diana Jones Award Finalists, Avatar/Korra RPG QuickStart) https://www.enworld.org/threads/news-digest-for-the-week-of-july-16.681397/

D&D Live Schedule Announced https://www.enworld.org/threads/d-d-live-schedule-unannounced-book-reveal-july-16th.681313/

Wild Beyond the Witchlight Features Warduke & More! https://www.enworld.org/threads/wild-beyond-the-witchlight-features-warduke-more.681403/

Everything You Need to Know About Witchlight https://www.enworld.org/threads/everything-you-need-to-know-about-witchlight.681409/

The Wild Beyond the Witchlight Pre-Order https://amzn.to/3reqakZ

The October D&D Book is Fizban’s Treasury of Dragons https://www.enworld.org/threads/the-october-d-d-book-is-fizban%E2%80%99s-treasury-of-dragons.681374/

Fizban’s Treasure of Dragons Pre-Order https://amzn.to/3hN5e1o

Fizban’s Treasury: The Dragon Book Now Has a Description…And A Feat https://www.enworld.org/threads/fizbans-treasury-the-dragon-book-now-has-a-description-and-a-feat.681399/

Check Out Fizban’s Alternate Cover https://www.enworld.org/threads/check-out-fizbans-alternate-cover.681406/

Is Paladine Bahamut? Is Takhisis Tiamat? Fizban’s Treasury Might Reveal the Answer https://www.enworld.org/threads/is-paladine-bahamut-is-takhisis-tiamat-fizbans-treasury-might-reveal-the-answer.681407/

Look at All This Draconic Fizban Art! https://www.enworld.org/threads/look-at-all-this-draconic-fizban-art.681417/

-------------------

Kickstarters

Incantations https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/mwgames/incantations

Fat Magic https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/hannaht/fat-magic-rpg-5e-campaign-setting

The Drowned War https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1427542164/the-drowned-war

Highcaster https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/greyauthor/highcaster

Cloudsea https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/mcolon/cloudsea-a-primer-to-living-atop-the-clouds (Peter guessed correctly, just for the wrong game)

Keep up to date with all the RPG crowdfunding projects ending soon every week with Egg Embry’s RPG Crowdfunding News https://www.enworld.org/threads/rpg-crowdfunding-news-%E2%80%93-hyperborea-gurps-the-drowned-war-and-more.681294/

-------------------

Cursed Captains of Cthulhu

Cursed Captains of Cthulhu on Kickstarter https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/287589860/cursed-captains-of-cthulhu

One Shot Stream Adventure on YouTube https://youtu.be/tHjIk6XWlSU

Free Cursed Captains of Cthulhu Quickstart on DriveThruRPG https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/362452/Cursed-Captains-of-Cthulhu-Quick-Start-Part-1?affiliate_id=36142

The Spy Game on DriveThruRPG https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/332115/The-Spy-Game-Core-Rulebook?affiliate_id=36142

Dreams, Nightmares, and Half-Remembered Things on DMs Guild https://www.dmsguild.com/product/356857/Dreams-Nightmares-and-HalfRemembered-Meetings?affiliate_id=36142

-------------------

Please support us on Patreon at http://patreon.com/morrus

Don’t forget to join the Morrus’ Unofficial Tabletop RPG Talk Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/1033145023517295/ and join us on Discord at https://discord.gg/VAuxX8M

-------------------

Hosts: Russ “Morrus” Morrissey and Peter Coffey

Editing and post-production: Darryl Mott

Theme Song: Steve Arnott

Kickstarter Game Research: Egg Embry

Kickstarter Game Theme: Lyrics by Russ Morrissey, Vocals by “drwilko”, Guitar by Darryl Mott

Malach the Maleficent played by Darren Morrissey

More episodes

Load more

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App