Games

The world’s biggest tabletop RPG weekly news show! News and chat about Dungeons & Dragons (and other tabletop roleplaying games)!

July 3, 2021

#157: The TSR Games Controversy

This week, Morrus and Peter bring us up to date with the goings-on involving the TSR Games fiasco. In the news, a free Dungeons & Dragons adventure promoting the Magic: The Gathering tie-in expansion released, more casting news for the D&D movie, the Marvel Multiverse playtest rules are available for pre-order, and more! Plus a brand new sketch about the importance of linear time in communication.

-------------------

News

Free Adventures in Forgotten Realms Adventure Released https://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/magic-story/scarlet-flames-2021-06-30

Marvel Multiverse Playtest Pre-Orders Available https://amzn.to/2Tl2UFv

Goodman Games Kickstarting Jack Vance’s Dying Earth for Dungeon Crawl Classics https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/devillich/dcc-dying-earth

Numenera Vertices Free Preview https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/361919/Vertices-FREE-PREVIEW?affiliate_id=36142

All these are covered in the News Digest for the Week of July 2 https://www.enworld.org/threads/news-digest-for-the-week-of-july-2.681087/

Rifts for Savage Worlds: Atlantis Rising Kickstarter https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/545820095/rifts-for-savage-worlds-atlantis-rising

How Do Opportunity Attacks Work in D&D 5e? https://www.enworld.org/threads/how-do-opportunity-attacks-work-in-d-d-5e.680925/

Benedict Cumberbatch Cast in Dungeons & Dragons Film https://www.enworld.org/threads/benedict-cumberbatch-joining-d-d-movie.681008/

Hugh Grant’s Costume Revealed https://www.enworld.org/threads/check-out-hugh-grants-d-d-movie-costume.680665/

Free Safety Tools for Roll20 https://www.dicebreaker.com/companies/roll20/news/roll20-rpg-safety-tools-official-support

RPG Kitchen Roleplaying Game Rental https://rpg.kitchen/

Loke Battlemaps to Make Official Cyberpunk RED Map Books https://rtalsoriangames.com/2021/07/01/cyberpunk-red-alert-loke-and-rtg-team-up/

Dungeons of Drakkenheim Kickstarter Headed to $1 million https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/2144996758/dungeons-of-drakkenheim

-------------------

Kickstarters

S5E: Superheroic Roleplaying for 5th Edition https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/sigil/s5e-superheroic-roleplaying-for-5th-edition

Spells of the Ages: Archmagic for D&D 5th Edition from EN Publishing https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/enworld/spells-of-the-ages-archmagic-for-dandd-5th-edition

Keep up to date with all the RPG crowdfunding projects ending soon every week with Egg Embry’s RPG Crowdfunding News https://www.enworld.org/threads/rpg-crowdfunding-news-%E2%80%93-rifts-spells-of-the-ages-s5e-and-more.680961/

-------------------

TSR Games Saga

TSR is Back…Again! https://www.enworld.org/threads/tsr-is-back-again.680779/

Ernie Gygax on New TSR, WotC Beefs, Trademarks, Licensees, 5E, and More https://www.enworld.org/threads/ernie-gygax-on-new-tsr-wotc-beefs-trademarks-licensees-5e-more.680877/

TSR (2) Confirms TSR (3)’s Acquisition of Trademark (Updated!) https://www.enworld.org/threads/tsr-2-confirms-tsr-3-s-acquisition-of-trademark-updated.680906/

Companies & Freelancers Distance Themselves from the New TSR https://www.enworld.org/threads/companies-freelancers-distance-themselves-from-the-new-tsr.680974/

From the Port City Daily, “Wilmington Republican primary rivals spar over candidate’s YouTube videos” https://portcitydaily.com/municipal-elections/2020/02/23/wilmington-republican-primary-rivals-spar-over-candidates-youtube-videos/

Gail Gygax Lawsuit and Trademark Disputes https://www.enworld.org/threads/updated-again-gary-gygaxs-widow-tsr-settle-trademark-dispute.663449/

Tim Kask video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fe34PFuwwn4&t=2820s

TSR3 Blames Widespread Pushback On WotC https://www.enworld.org/threads/tsr3-blames-widespread-pushback-on-wotc.681048/

Who’s Running the TSR3 Social Media Accounts? https://www.enworld.org/threads/whos-running-the-tsr3-social-media-accounts.681100/

TSR Games (Elliot) aka TSR2 is now Solarian Games https://twitter.com/TSRgames/status/1411153710122602497

-------------------

Please support us on Patreon at http://patreon.com/morrus

Don’t forget to join the Morrus’ Unofficial Tabletop RPG Talk Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/1033145023517295/ and join us on Discord at https://discord.gg/VAuxX8M

-------------------

Hosts: Russ “Morrus” Morrissey and Peter Coffey

Editing and post-production: Darryl Mott

Theme Song: Steve Arnott

Kickstarter Game Research: Egg Embry

Kickstarter Game Theme: Lyrics by Russ Morrissey, Vocals by “drwilko”, Guitar by Darryl Mott

Malach the Maleficent played by Darren Morrissey

More episodes

Load more

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App